I’m engaged!!!!

20151023_104755I arrived in Colorado Springs on 10/18, totally excited for my boyfriend to arrive back from Kuwait. This deployment felt almost harder than his past combative one simply due to time zones and the overall timing of it. I made a sign and waited for him to get home after one delay. He arrived safe and sound. We were also excited because we would be spending our 4 1/2 years together. We have never been able to be together for big milestones before. Andrew decided to get a room at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort for the weekend to celebrate, have a nice dinner, and some champagne and strawberries. He always does things to make our time together special. Little did I know, it was going to be a bigger night than I expected…

We got up to our room, It was gorgeous, I was having him follow me to the balcony and taking in the sights, the Rocky Mountains. He said it was a bit chilly and wanted to go back into the room. Before I flew out to Colorado Springs, he had asked me to bring the letters he wrote to me; he said he had a plan of putting things together nicely. I didn’t think anything of it, since I had just finished my scrap book/photo album of my travels in Europe from last year. He asked to see the letters, and started to take them out of the envelopes to look at what they were, “I’m just putting them in the order I sent them” he told me. I just sat and watched. Then he told me “There’s one letter I didn’t get to send before I came home…” He drew a question mark on a piece of paper and placed it at the end of his letters. He said “Okay. Figure it out.” I was so confused. I got up off the bed to get a front view of what he had been working on. I just stared at them. There were some shapes at the tops of some of the letters, but it wasn’t making sense to me. “Could you please help me a little? I’m not sure what I’m looking for…” I was literally so confused. “Look at the first letter of each one.” From the time he started writing to me from Kuwait 9 months ago, until now, Andrew had been planning this moment. The letters spelled out “Will you marry me?” I turned to him, and he was on one knee. He said my full name and started to say something nice about us/me. I was so surprised, I cut him off and said “Are you serious?!” I asked him about 3-4 more times and just hugged him so hard. I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t crying because I was so happy. He then asked “So, do you want the ring, or….?” And he put the ring on my finger. We are engaged! The way he did this was so perfect, and so surprising, I could not have imagined a better proposal for us. It was so personal and between just the two of us. I have such an amazing man in my life and I am so excited to spend the rest of our lives together.

12032282_10205863659365244_5690403784082254582_n-Kayla ❤ 😀

Leave a Reply

